Day 20 – Bokeh


Before I actually knew what bokeh was, I knew I liked it, and it’s one of the reasons I love photography so much.

Thanks to my dad – who loaned me his film SLR and taught me what I needed to know about shutter speeds and aperture – I was immediately taken with shooting images using a shallow depth of field. It’s no wonder my favourite lens is my 50mm f/1.4.

So I know how to create bokeh in my images, but I just learned tonight (thanks Wiki!) that the term actually comes from the Japanese word boke (暈け or ボケ), which means “blur” or “haze”, or boke-aji (ボケ味), the “blur quality”.

(Thanks again to my dining room chandelier for being such a great prop.)

Random bokeh images like the few above are fun but it’s even better when you can incorporate bokeh into images where something – or someone – is in focus in the foreground. Can you ‘catch the bokeh’ in any of these images?



30-Day Photography Challenge (Flickr Group)

Leave a Reply

